An external view of the Met Office building at night.

Observations research and development scientists

The Observations R&D team consists of around 50 people across a range of disciplines and skills. Some of our scientists include:

Matthew works on evaluating crowdsourced observations in the Observation Network Design team.

  • Dawn Harrison

    Dawn leads the Observations Network Design team

  • Dr Sharon Jewell

    Sharon works as a radar scientist in the Observations Network Design team.

  • Dr Dave Jones

    Dave is our Principal Consultant for Observations.

  • Dr Jonathan Jones

    Jonathan is head of Global Navigation Satellite System meteorology research and development work for the Met Office.

  • Dr Zhihong Li

    Zhihong works on data assimilation methods for 1.5 km resolution NWP-based nowcasting systems.

  • Darren Lyth

    Darren works on evaluating next-generation surface sensors, with a current emphasis on Present Weather sensors.

  • Mike Molyneux

    Mike is a specialist in the research and development of Automatic Weather Stations and in-situ 24/7 measurements.

  • Dr Debbie O'Sullivan

    Debbie leads the Remote Sensing and Aircraft Based Observations team.

  • Dr Edmund Stone

    Ed leads our research on novel technologies and methods such as opportunistic observations.

  • Dr Kate Szpek

    Kate leads the Surface Systems team.

  • Dr Alan Vance

    Alan works on surface observations.

  • Dr Claire Witham
    Claire is the Head of the Observations R&D area.